Gonna Fly Now

Man, watching Rocky in English class was great. It was the first time I had seen a Stallone movie that wasn’t The Expendables, and it was a pretty good watch. I was a little let down by the ending, but hey we got a really good fight. I thought that Rocky’s goal of going the distance was the main thing to watch out for in the movie. He says it countless times and he’s happy that he stood toe and toe with the beast Apollo Creed. I knew he could do it, but how did he prepare? He trained. He trained like there was tomorrow. A great boxer once said, ‘I hated every minute of training, but I said, ” Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.” Rocky didn’t get to be a champion, but he reached his goal. He transformed throughout movie. I thought of him as a lowly boxer that was just a thug. However, as the movie progressed, he became so much more…. He helped little kids get on the right path, and he also showed true compassion to Adrian. I think him drinking the eggs gave me a glimpse of what boxers did in the past to help prepare their bodies. Rocky’s training ticked at me a little. It showed his transformation and how you can improve after hardwork. He was huffin and puffing all over at the beginning of training, but in the end he did it and he didn’t even break a sweat.  He reached his goal with the fight against Apollo and he came in very close, but he lost. He was just happy that he went toe to toe with a legend. I think that i should have a mindset like that when I do things, it would be very encouraging to do..

rocky mang” You’re going to eat lightnin’ , and you’re going to crap thunder!” – Mickey

Signing,

                 Bill

Leave a Reply

