Rest in Peace Sean Severson…..

Sean Dylan Severson

 

Today’s blog isn’t going to be such a joyful blog. On Thursday, March 20th 2014 there was accident that took the life of a 15 year old boy named Sean Severson. Sean Severson was hit and killed while riding his bike in Fountain Valley at 7:47 am, most likely while on his way to school. He was transported to a local hospital in critical condition; according to the Orange County Coroner’s office, he died at 11:50 am this morning, just four days short of his 16th birthday.This fatal car accident not only took away one of our beloved students from FVHS, but an acquaintance of mine. I didn’t really know Sean that well, but a lot of my friends did. I met him once through a friend and I could already tell that he was a down to earth guy. I’d see him riding his black beach cruiser to school every single day with a smile on his face. “He lives life to the fullest without any regrets.” This was my first thought about Sean. Sean was someone who wasn’t afraid to be himself. High school is a time about finding yourself and who you really are based upon your friends. Sean already seemed to have known who he was because everybody loved him. It’s crazy how much someone can impact you even though you barely know the person. I wish I got to know him better is my only regret.

I’ve always seen scenarios like this happen in the movie and I usually would think,”this won’t happen to me at all.” The hardest part about this is the fact that I am never going to be able to see Sean again. My walk to school is going to change and my interactions with his friends are going to change, but not my memories with Sean.

“A smile happens in a flash, but its memory can last a lifetime.”

There was a candle lighting ceremony in honor of Sean that I thought was very respectful and heartwarming. In this tragic time, all of Sean’s friends and family are coming together and lighting candles and building up a shrine where Sean was hit. Not only this, but on Monday the whole school of Fountain Valley is going to wear black/rasta clothing in honor of Sean. This is what Sean would’ve wanted. Actions like these restores faith in humanity. I offer my condolences to Sean’s family.

ghost bike Sean

 

Goodbye Sean, you will forever be miss but never will be forgotten. I hope you’re living life to the fullest up there in heaven too brother.

Until Next Time readers,

Signing,

Chris

Leave a Reply

