Doesn’t Make Sense

This afternoon as I was mopping my house floors, all I could think was man, I do not want to go to school tomorrow.  I wish it was spring break already, but deep inside I knew that spring break is about a months reach away from me.  And that thought made me depressed once again.

osbornemp-stress-good-habits-veer_0

 

It seems to me almost every student dreads attending school.  All the classwork, tests, quizzes, and let’s not forget the countless hours of homework, make school so much less exciting and so much more awful.  I love learning.  Knowledge is great.  But let’s face it, do we students learn much from these tests, quizzes, and homework assignments?  Many students forget what they learn as the years (sometimes even days) pass by.  So what is the point of all the stressful work when we students won’t even remember all the details.

Is it the practice?  Do these assignments prepare  us for the future?  I guess these assignments and tests prepare us for college entrance exams, SAT tests, and all other academic related things.  But why is it that these tests and assignments determine our grades, college entrance, and success?  I do not understand.

Audi-A6-illo-front-view

 

With countless expectations (ironically from myself), I feel trapped when it comes to school.  It’s like a barbed wire fence is surrounding me, and I can not escape because if I do, my hopes for the future may be shattered.  I know I have to do my best, but sometimes it is all so much, I just want to break down and rage at every equation, word, shape, and number printed in my textbooks.

I guess what I am trying to say is:

Tests, quizzes, and homework assignments are the bane to my existence.  & in my opinion, success in education should not be solely based upon them.

Signing,

Naomi

4 thoughts on “Doesn’t Make Sense

  1. “Many students forget what they learn as the years (sometimes even days) pass by. So what is the point of all the stressful work when we students won’t even remember all the details.”Amen, glad I am not the only one.

  2. I do agree that tests and quizzes should not have to be the basis of a successful life for us. However, that isn’t -really- all there is to it. A college entrance essay isn’t an informative research paper, for example. What colleges are really looking for is a decent set of grades to prove you have a good work ethic, but moreover, personality. they want to know who you are, whether that be through poetry, or a short story, or a witty and well thought out introduction. Your personality matters to them. And if you continue to be who you are in all aspects of life you will go far.
    Keep writing, my friend 🙂

    • I understand that colleges also look at other factors, but sometimes it is all just so much… it gets really stressful. Thanks so much for the reassurance! It really means a lot, my friend 🙂
      -Naomi

Leave a Reply

