“The Quarterback,” A Farewell to Finn

cory-monteith-gleeTo you Glee fans, do you remember that one summer 2013 night around 8 PM where something quite shocking caught your attention?  Yup, that was the night.  The tough, unspeakable night when it was revealed that Cory Monteith, the one and only Finn Hudson, had died.

That night was so vivid, I still remember the details and feelings as if it were today.

I was spending the weekend at my cousin’s house, waiting for my mother to return from a “reunion” she attended, which is quite fascinating, but we can discuss that in another post.  My cousins, siblings, and I had just finished eating dinner which included curry, rice, and some soup.

After a full stomach, I laid down on the hardwood floor in one of the rooms of the house.  Of course, my cousin’s enormous stuffed cow accompanied me and gave me some cushion.  I was scrolling through Etsy, a site where individuals sell their DIY products, on my phone, to get ideas for redecorating my room.  My cousin walked in, sat at her desk, and opened her laptop.

“Oh my goodness,” she stated.

I looked up at her with a questioning look.

“Oh my goodness.  Cory Monteith is dead.”

Not fully comprehending what she had stated, I replied, “Cory Monteith?  Finn?  The Cory Monteith from Glee?”

“YES, the Cory Monteith from Glee.  This is so crazy.  I can’t believe it.”

I could not and did not believe my cousin fully.  So, I exit the Etsy browser, and googled Cory Monteith.  News all over popped up.  I clicked on one link, and it was true, Cory Monteith had died from an overdose.

What was shocking to me was the fact Monteith had a drug abuse problem I had not known about, and it made me even more sad when I discovered he was greatly recovering from this problem and was regularly attending rehab.  Why? Why does such a talented young man have to be taken away from his friends, families, audiences, and loving fans.  AND the whole Glee cast had taken a season 5 photo shoot earlier that week.  It was devastating news, and sympathy went out to all affected individuals by this.

Glee Season 5 Promo Shoot

Cory Monteith (right) and other cast members

Although Monteith passed away, Glee season 5 still resumes.  Earlier this night, a special episode, “The Quarterback,” was dedicated to the loving cast member, and if you have not seen it yet, I recommend you check it out.  The promotional video gives me goose bumps even after watching it 10+ times.

I will not spoil the episode, but it was full of emotion, truly touching, and a great tribute to an amazing actor.  The glee cast performed amazingly, and the episode could not have been better.  Everything felt real.

Cory Monteith, Finn Hudson, you will always be remembered and loved.  Thank you for giving the world what you had to offer.   (May 11, 1982 – July 13, 2013)

To all you GLEEKS, stay Gleeky.

Signing,

Naomi

Leave a Reply

